Add UML Model and Integrated UML Modeling Buttons

Article ID: 958
Last updated: 01 Feb, 2008
Article ID: 958
Last updated: 01 Feb, 2008
Revision: 1
Views: 3366
Posted: 26 Mar, 1999
by Dean J.
Updated: 01 Feb, 2008
by Dean J.
Problem


What's the difference between the Add UML Model button and the Integrated UML Modeling button?


Cause





Action


The difference is primarily conceptual. When a new project is opened, initially there is no UML modeling information associated with that project. This keeps Visual CASE's hands off your project until you're ready to start modeling.

Once you add the UML model to your project using Add UML Model, new Visual CASE project (.vcp) and workspace (.vcw) files are generated and checked into Source Code Control if appropriate. At this point, Visual CASE is coupled to your project and automatically stays synchronized with your latest changes.

If you wish to temporarily disable this coupling, select the Integrated UML Modeling button to pause Visual CASE integration for that project. Note that this does not remove the Visual CASE persistence files, it only pauses automatic synchronization. When you click the button again, it re-enables integrated UML modeling. Visual CASE then synchronizes its internal state to the latest state of your project. This synchronization toggle can be done an arbitrary number of times.

This article was:   Helpful | Not helpful
Report an issue
Article ID: 958
Last updated: 01 Feb, 2008
Revision: 1
Views: 3366
Posted: 26 Mar, 1999 by Dean J.
Updated: 01 Feb, 2008 by Dean J.

Others in this category